## Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Ref.: TC/680

26 June 2018

Ken Powell
Pending Applications
Development Planning
City of Westminster
PO Box 732
Redhill
RH1 9FL

By e-mail: centralplanningteam@westminster.gov.uk

Application: 18/04433/FUL & 18/04434/LBC

Site: The Gielgud Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue, London, W1D 6AR

**Proposal:** Installation of window and larger stage door. Internal alterations.

## Remit:

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

## Comment:

Thank you for consulting the Theatres Trust on the above application and listed building consent, which proposes internal alterations to improve and enlarge the stage managers office and provide a new means of accessing the theatre's boiler room, and the replacement of an external side door adjacent to the stage door with a window.

The proposal will help improve safety and security at the theatre by improving surveillance and increasing control of visitors backstage in accordance with Policy S29 of the Westminster City Plan (2016) and paragraph 96.a of the draft revised National Planning Policy Framework. We do not consider that it will detrimentally impact the character and appearance of the theatre as a Grade II listed heritage asset, with the space around the redundant door/new window being infilled to match the original building fabric along with insertion of a white timber window frame and panelling underneath to replicate the adjacent window.

We therefore support this proposal and recommend the granting of listed building consent.

## **Theatres Trust**

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H OQL

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, David Blyth, Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Ruth Eastwood, David Ian, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Dara Ó Briain, Simon Ricketts, Peter Roberts, Ann Skippers, Anna Stapleton

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance.

Tom Clarke MRTPI National Planning Adviser