Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Ref.: TC/9006194

14 December 2018

Mr. M. Alford Planning, Policy & Development Control Team Staffordshire County Council 2 Staffordshire Place Stafford ST16 2DH

By e-mail: planning@staffordbc.gov.uk

Applications: 18/28965/FUL

Site: Stone Town Council Car Park Crown Street Stone ST15 8QN

Proposals: Proposed public house and studio theatre including use of wharfingers cottage; parking; exterior works

Remit:

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

Comment:

Thank you for consulting Theatres Trust regarding amendments to this proposal.

We consider revisions to the layout and function of backstage areas within the theatre to be an improvement. Some queries regarding use of the wider site have been clarified.

However, despite a revised indicative layout our concerns regarding the auditorium remain as do our previous comments on how the split between pub and theatre will be managed operationally. We strongly recommend that the applicant engages a specialist theatre consultant/architect, as the long-term sustainability and viability of the theatre must be a priority as is the need to ensure it complies with relevant standards and building regulations.

We would like to reiterate that we support the principle of this development which we feel would be greatly beneficial for Stone and would like to see permission granted, but there needs to be further engagement with relevant stakeholders and further refinement of the proposed designs.

Theatres Trust

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H OQL

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, David Blyth, Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Ruth Eastwood, David Ian, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Dara Ó Briain, Simon Ricketts, Peter Roberts, Ann Skippers, Anna Stapleton

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance or if you wish to discuss these comments further. We would be delighted to work with the Council, applicant and other interested parties in order to secure a positive outcome.

Tom Clarke MRTPI

National Planning Adviser