## Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Ref.: TC/731

20 February 2019

County Hall, The Rhadyr, Usk, NP15 1GA

By e-mail: planning@monmouthshire.gov.uk

Application: DM/2019/00193

Site: Savoy Theatre Church Street Monmouth Monmouthshire NP25 3BU

**Proposal:** Non-material amendment for planning consent DC/2017/00520:- To extend by an additional 0.5m.

## **Remit:**

The Theatres Trust is the National Advisory Body for Theatres and was established by The Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres'. The Trust is a statutory consultee in the planning system and local planning authorities in Wales are required to consult the Trust on planning applications for 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre', 'residential development within 50 metres of a theatre' as well as for proposed theatres. The definition of theatres within the Act defines a theatre as 'any building or part of a building constructed wholly or mainly for the public performance of plays', and therefore applies to theatres, playhouses, arts centres, ciné-varieties or buildings converted for theatre use, old and new, in other uses or disused.

## Comment:

This application seeks an amendment to the previously permitted scheme to provide additional and much-needed female and disabled WCs at the Savoy Theatre. Please note the Trust was not directly consulted on either this or the original proposal despite falling within our remit as described above. Please ensure the Council's systems are updated and that we are consulted on any further applications related to theatres.

The proposal will see the extension extended by a further 0.5m. We support efforts by theatre owners and operators to improve their buildings and enhance the audience experience which boosts their sustainability and ongoing viability as cultural assets. We therefore recommend the approval of this amendment.

Please contact us should you wish to discuss these comments in further detail.

## **Theatres Trust**

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H OQL

- T 020 7836 8591
- F 020 7836 3302

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, David Blyth, Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Ruth Eastwood, David Ian, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Dara Ó Briain, Simon Ricketts, Peter Roberts, Ann Skippers, Anna Stapleton

The National Advisory Public Body for Theatres

The Theatres Trust Charitable Fund co-operates with Theatres Trust, has the same Trustees and is registered as a charity under number 274697

Tolare

Tom Clarke MRTPI National Planning Adviser