## Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Ref.: TC/3890

16 October 2020

Denise Sheath
Havant Borough Council
Public Service Plaza
Civic Centre Road
Havant
Hampshire
PO9 2AX

By e-mail: planning.development@havant.gov.uk

**Applications:** APP/20/00780

Site: Station Theatre, Station Road, Hayling Island, PO11 0EH

**Proposals:** Replacement of existing glazed open lobby with new enclosed brickwork lobby extension. (Revised Application).

#### Remit:

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

### Comment:

Thank you for consulting Theatres Trust regarding this proposal for a replacement lobby at Station Theatre. The Trust previously commented on and supported an alternative design in November 2019.

Station Theatre is a valued cultural facility serving Hayling Island, and is run by Hayling Island Amateur Dramatic Society (HIADS). It provides local people with the opportunity to participate and engage in cultural activity, which contributes to well-being. Paragraph 92 of the NPPF seeks decisions to plan positively for community and cultural facilities such as this.

In contrast to the previous application, this proposal would see an increase in the width of the lobby and two sets of doors. It would be built using brick with its design and appearance matching that of the rest of the building. Again, to improve accessibility we would encourage that the doors can be opened automatically.

### Theatres Trust

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, David Blyth, Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Annie Hampson, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Simon Ricketts, Jane Spiers, Truda Spruyt, Katie Town

# Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Otherwise we support this proposal and recommend the granting of planning permission.

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance or if you wish to discuss these comments in greater detail.

Tom Clarke MRTPI

National Planning Adviser

### Theatres Trust

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, David Blyth, Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Annie Hampson, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Simon Ricketts, Jane Spiers, Truda Spruyt, Katie Town