Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Ref.: TC/2039

07 July 2021

Ken Powell
Pending Applications
Development Planning
City of Westminster
PO Box 732
Redhill
RH1 9FL

By e-mail: centralplanningteam@westminster.gov.uk

Application: 21/04173/FULL

Site: Piccadilly Theatre Denman Street London W1D 7DY

Proposal: Replacement Gates to the Denman Street Entrance to the Piccadilly Theatre.

Remit:

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

Comment:

Thank you for consulting Theatres Trust regarding this application for planning permission at Piccadilly Theatre. The proposal seeks to replace the theatre's steel entry gates to its bin store, get-in passage and stage door from Denman Street.

The existing gates are showing visible signs of becoming past their useful life and we would concur with the applicant that the Perspex screen shielding the bin store does not make a positive contribution to the area's character. The proposed replacement would be of smarter appearance with greater prominence being given to the theatre's branding and consistency with the main theatre building. This will help improve prominence and assist with wayfinding for performers and visitors to the building.

Therefore we are supportive of the granting of planning permission.

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance or should you wish to discuss these comments further.

Theatres Trust

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Annie Hampson, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Jane Spiers, Truda Spruyt, Katie Town

Protecting theatres for **everyone**



Tom Clarke MRTPI National Planning Adviser

Theatres Trust

Chair Tim Eyles Director Jon Morgan

Trustees Richard Baldwin, Paul Cartwright, Paddy Dillon, Annie Hampson, Richard Johnston, Gary Kemp, Jane Spiers, Truda Spruyt, Katie Town