Theatre Photograph of the Year

We are delighted to announce a new public competition to celebrate the UK’s theatre buildings.

Theatre Photograph of the Year competition looks to find images that reflect everything we love about theatres in the UK. It is sponsored by Aecom with prizes provided by Theatre Tokens.

We have a very special judging panel in place that includes three of our Ambassadors – celebrated choreographer and director Matthew Bourne, much-loved comedian and actress Miranda Hart and acclaimed actor Jude Law.

Open to amateur and professional photographers alike, there are three main categories:

  • Beautiful buildings – photographs highlighting the wonderful architecture of theatre buildings, old or modern, small or grand. This could be the exterior of a building, an inside space or a particular design detail.
  • Connecting communities – photographs celebrating how theatres are central to their communities. This could be a theatre shown as part of its local area or how the theatre brings people together.
  • Entertaining evenings – photographs capturing the joy of going to the theatre. This could be the excitement of a performance or a lively bar / café before a show. Matinee photos are welcome too!

From the category winners, one image will be chosen as the overall Theatre Photograph of the Year.

There is also a special category for younger budding photographers – the Young Theatre Photographer of the Year prize is open to anyone aged 16 or under on the closing date (30 March 2020)

The competition runs until 30 March, giving you plenty of time to visit your favourite theatres and take some stunning photographs.

Find out more about the competition.

Read the full press release.

AecomTheatre Tokens