New Chair and Trustees appointed to Theatres Trust Board

Dave Moutrey has been appointed as Theatres Trust’s new Chair by the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport along with four new Trustees.

Dave Moutrey is Director and Chief Executive of HOME, a purpose built multi art form venue, having conceived and led both the merger of Cornerhouse and Library Theatre Company and the £25m capital project to create HOME. Since 2018 he has also been Director of Culture for Manchester City Council where he is responsible for advising the council on policy and strategy for culture.

Dave Moutrey says “Theatres Trust has a crucial role to play in helping to protect our heritage and advise on the design of new performance spaces to make sure that these important assets continue to serve their vital role at the heart of our communities and cultures. I am therefore delighted and honoured to be joining the organisation as Chair and to work with the trustees and team as we navigate the challenges and opportunities presented across the UK.”

Four Trustees have also been appointed to Theatres Trust Board:

  • James Dacre Artistic Director of Royal & Derngate Theatres in Northampton
  • Suba Das, Creative Director Designate of Liverpool Everyman and Playhouse Theatres and current Artistic Director and Chief Executive of HighTide
  • Stephanie Hall, a barrister specialising in town and country planning at Kings Chambers
  • Lucy Osborne, set and costume designer and co-founder of studio three sixty

Theatres Trust Director Jon Morgan says “I am delighted that Dave Moutrey will take up the reigns as Theatres Trust’s Chair, as his wealth of experience leading HOME and advising Manchester City Council will be invaluable to our work making the case for theatres. I am also looking forward to working with the other new Trustees, who bring an extraordinary array of skills and expertise that will complement and strengthen our existing Board.”

All appointments are for a three-year term, beginning on 21 February 2022. As an arms-length public body, appointments to the Theatres Trust Board are made by the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

Photo credit: Drew Forsyth